Year 14 – 1992

Male winner: Brian Michasiw; 2:43:13
Female winner: Heather Stilborn; 3:28:55

From this year through 1995, the event was known as the Star Phoenix Saskatchewan Marathon, as a new major sponsor came on board. This was the second year that a relay event was offered, but the 10Km distance was eliminated. Race director, Greg Fenty, kept the same course, with a start at the west end of the Victoria/19th Street (now Traffic) bridge and a finish in the cul-de-sac south of 20th Street on Spadina Crescent.

In his first attempt at the marathon distance, 22 year old Brian Michasiw won in 2:42:13, the fastest time he would post in his three wins at the Saskatchewan Marathon.

There were approximately 100 marathoners, with a total of nearly 400 entered overall. In the half-marathon, the winners were Darren Yakimishyn (1:13:18) and Susan Leier (1:34:42). In the relay, Team Hedstrom won the men’s event in 2:49:57. The women’s division was won by Lyn Baillie’s team in 3:07:42. The mixed team competition was won by Balezantis & Co. in 2:44:06.

mostly cloudy
9am wind: west 11Kmh, 7am: 3 °C, 11am: 5 °C

Comments are closed.