Year 31 – 2009

Male winner: Brian Michasiw; 2:42:30
Female winner: Lindsay Byers; 3:21:18

Another record was set for entries this year – approximately 2300 people registered for one of the three events: 10 Km, half-marathon or marathon. Even with an increasing number of events to choose from on the local scene, the Saskatchewan Marathon continues to be amoung the most popular.

Tradition has it that the pasta dinner speaker presents a motivational and even inspirational talk; this year’s speaker didn’t disappoint. Rosey Edeh, correspondent for ET Canada, talked about her 1988, 1992 and 1996 Olympic 400 metre hurdling experiences. Her talk left the audience charged and ready to go in the morning.

Brian Michasiw won an unprecedented fifth Saskatchewan Marathon, in his best local time of 2:42:30. Michasiw ran side by side with 2006 winner, Brendan Lunty, for 15 Km. Lunty finished second, 19 seconds behind Brian. Lunty said: “Losing to him… there’s nothing to be ashamed of there”. Chris Schwarz was third in 2:52:06. In an interesting sidebar, Lunty made the Saskatchewan Marathon the second leg of a quest to run three marathons in three consecutive weekends – Red Deer, Saskatoon and Calgary.

In women’s results, in her seventh try at the marathon distance, Lindsay Byers finally won one, in 3:21:08. Byers had finished second in Saskatoon in 2008. Lori Soderberg was second in a time of 3:24:41. Jamie Myers (3:28:23) was third.

In the half-marathon, Brandi Pozniak repeated as the women’s winner (1:23:59) over Kelly Davey (1:32:00). The men’s half-marathon winner was Jody Draube (1:16:32) with James Funk second in 1:17:53.

The 10Km champions were Julian Deciutiis in the men’s division in 39:01. The women’s winner was Celine Sidloski in 43:36 (Sidloski was the 1998, 2001 and 2002 Marathon champ).

9am wind: SE 15 Kmh, 7am: 13C, 11Am: 18C

Comments are closed.