Year 8 – 1986

Male winner: Jim Jasieniuk; 2:30:17
Female winner: Joi Belyk; 3:07:34

The name of this event reverted back to simply the Saskatchewan Marathon. Race director, Bob Carmichael was hoping to top 400 entries for the three events, but with just one day to go, only about 200 athletes had registered. Bob said in an interview with the Star Phoenix: “I felt we should have had more people, but we’re competing with Saskatoon Day at the Roughrider game in Regina”. The marathon was dealt another blow when defending champion Jorgen Lorensen was forced to withdraw, due to an injury. A strong field was in place however. It included the eventual champ, Jim Jasieniuk, at the time regarded as one of the top marathoners in the country. Lorensen’s presence was still felt, as he assisted Carmichael in the organization of the event.
The course was the same as last year’s, but Carmichael did say: “I’d really like to see a change. The latter part of the race is relatively boring for a runner because it’s strictly two loops and you always know exactly where you are”.

For the first year, substantial prizes were awarded to the male and female winners: an all-expenses paid trip to the May 10, 1987 London Marathon.

Ted Jaleta (1:14:37) and Irene Kokotallo (1:26:00) won the half-marathon while Reno Lewis (32:50) and Judy Warick (42:48) were the 10Km champs for this year.

9am wind: south 17Kmh, 7am: -3 °C, 11am: 6 °C

Jim Jasieniuk

012 1986 Jasieniuk
1986 Shirt

013 1986 shirt

Comments are closed.